Thibault Anselmet, winner of the Ski Mountaineering World Cup 2023 + 2024

Two-time winner of the Ski Mountaineering World Cup (2023 and 2024), leader of the French ski mountaineering team, Thibault Anselmet, is the proud bearer of the colors of his resort, Bonneval sur Arc. Immerse yourself in its history.

Leader in ski mountaineering

Meeting with... The star of French ski mountaineering
Don't be fooled, under his airs of discreet young man and behind his fine physique, Thibault Anselmet hides the face of a committed competitor. A world champion ski mountaineer with a strong character.

In 2021, for his very first year on the senior circuit, Thibault Anselmet ended the ski mountaineering season (the competition side of ski touring) with a small globe in the vertical race and a second place in the overall World Cup ranking! In 2022, he confirmed this with a new second place in the overall ranking. A frustrating second place for this exceptional champion, naturally gifted, passionate about his sport, hard-working and attentive to every detail. Thibault then clearly announced his objective: to win the "Gros Globe" in 2023, i.e. the overall ranking of the ski mountaineering World Cup. He achieved this goal during this exceptional season , during which he also won the World Champion title in the mixed relay (with Emily Harrop) at the March 2023 Championships in Boí Taüll, Spain. During these championships, Thibault also won the silver medal in sprint!

Once you've reached the top, the hardest thing is to stay there. That's what Thibault Anselmet did in 2024, winning the Gros Globe once again. This year, he also won the title in "sprint", an ultra-spectacular discipline that will be part of the 2026 Olympic Games.

Meet Thibault Anselmet, The star of French ski mountaineering

2024: World Cup overall winner (Large Globe) + sprint winner (Small Globe)!

1280x853-Thibault-Anselmet © @360DSM

2024: an exceptional new season

"After winning the World Cup overall in 2023, I wanted to show that I was capable of being at the top level again. It was the season's
objective of the season and I've confirmed it. It's no mean feat to stay at the top world level for two seasons in a row". In 2024, Thibault Anselmet once again confirmed his dominance of world ski mountaineering. With Le Gros Globe (overall World Cup winner) + the Globe in sprint. At the European Championships, he also won two medals: bronze in the individual event and silver in the mixed relay with Celia Perillat Pessey. As for the French Championships, he simply pulled off a grand slam with 4 titles (French champion in individual, sprint, vertical and mixed relay)! Unbeatable!
Thibault Anselmet, the ski touring culture

A family history

Like many local children, Thibault Anselmet took up skiing when he could barely walk. Not surprising, given that his father was a mountaineer himself. A member of the Ski Club at Bonneval sur Arc (a resort that has been awarded the "Terre d'Alpinisme" label by the UNESCO Committee), he took to the peaks before switching to ski mountaineering as a teenager. And it wasn't long before he was following in his father's footsteps. Between transmission and admiration: "He used to pick me up from boarding school on Wednesdays to end the day with dry climbs in our Haute Maurienne Vanoise resorts.

Ski mountaineering became much more than a discipline for the young Maurienne: "This sport is physically and mentally difficult and you learn a lot about yourself. You discover yourself. It also allows you to go wherever you want in the mountains, without being restricted to slopes or lifts.

Ski mountaineering is a family affair in the Anselmet family. During the 2023 World Championships, during which Thibault Anselmet became world champion, his brother Jérémy won silver in the U20 mixed relay!

A deep impulse of freedom

Inspired at an early age by the likes of Kilian Jornet, benevolently advised by his father, and supported by his local council and the Tourist Office, Thibault Anselmet progressed rapidly. And his talent and abilities are unmistakable: the man who used to work as a carpenter has become one of the only Frenchmen in the discipline to turn professional in 2021, thanks to a contract with the Army of Champions. At just 83 m tall, the skier from Bonneval sur Arc has broad shoulders: "Of course, my ambitions are higher. I'm aiming for overall World Cup victory, and why not an Olympic medal too? The sprint and mixed relay will make their debut at the Milan Olympics in 2026: "That would clearly be a medium-term objective."

Thibault Anselmet, a deep impulse of freedom
White intagram pictogram

Follow Thibault Anselmet on Instagram !

To the moon, Thibault Anselmet

To the moon

In 2023, Thibault Anselmet set himself the highest goal in his discipline: to win the overall World Cup ski mountaineering ranking. He achieved this goal through hard work and a strong mental attitude. In 2023, he has reached the moon: Thibault's impressions with his new video "To the moon".

Haute Maurienne Vanoise

Ski touring culture

A leading figure in ski mountaineering in France, Thibault Anselmet is also indicative of a ski touring culture that is firmly rooted in the Haute Maurienne Vanoise resorts. Races and events are regularly organized in the resorts (Trace du Châtelard in Aussois, Traversée des Rois Mages in Valfréjus, montée de l'Eterlou in La Norma...), and special itineraries have been set up in Aussois, Val Cenis and Bessans.

Bessans and Bonneval sur Arc have even been awarded the " Land of Mountaineering " label by UNESCO, thanks in no small part to their ski touring culture.

Thibault Anselmet may still be young (he was born in 1997), but the next generation is already here: Anselme Damevin and Louane Roussillon, from Val Cenis, are among France's finest youngsters, as is Thibault's brother Jérémy Anselmet. Anselme won the U23 world title at the 2023 World Championships, and Jérémy also medaled at the same event.

With such a density, Haute Maurienne Vanoise is now the land of France's ski mountaineering champions.

Ski touring, Haute Maurienne Vanoise, ski mountaineering
Top 3 Rando by Thibault Anselmet
Discover the top 3 ski touring itineraries at Bonneval sur Arc by Thibault Anselmet

Thibault Anselmet, vainqueur de la Coupe du monde de ski alpinisme

Vainqueur de la Coupe du monde de ski alpinisme en 2023 et leader de l’équipe de France de ski-alpinisme Thibault Anselmet, porte haut les couleurs de sa station, Bonneval sur Arc. Plongez au cœur de son histoire.

Leader du ski alpinisme

Rencontre avec… La star du ski alpinisme français
Ne vous détrompez pas, sous ses airs de jeune homme discret et derrière son physique fin, Thibault Anselmet cache le visage d’un compétiteur engagé. D’un champion du monde de ski alpinisme au caractère affirmé.

Dès 2021, pour sa toute première année sur le circuit senior Thibault Anselmet terminait la saison de ski-alpinisme (le versant compétition du ski de randonnée) avec un petit globe en verticale race et une deuxième place du classement général de la Coupe du Monde ! En 2022, il confirmait avec une nouvelle deuxième place au classement général. Une deuxième place frustrante pour ce champion d’exception, naturellement doué, passionné par son sport, travailleur et attentif à tous les détails.  Thibault annonçait alors clairement son objectif : remporter le “Gros Globe” en 2023, c’est à dire le classement général de la Coupe du monde de ski alpinisme. Un objectif atteint lors de cette saison exceptionnelle pendant laquelle il a également décroché le titre de champion du monde en relais mixte (avec Emily Harrop) lors des Championnats de mars 2023 à Boí Taüll, en Espagne. Des championnats pendant lesquelles Thibault a également décroché la médaille d’argent en sprint !

Rencontre avec Thibault Anselmet, La star du ski alpinisme français

2023 : vainqueur de la Coupe du monde, champion du monde en relais mixte, vice-champion du monde en sprint, double champion de France

1280x853-Thibault-Anselmet © @360DSM

2024 : début de saison toujours au top !

« Après avoir remporté la Coupe du monde au classement général, je voulais montrer que j’étais capable d’être à nouveau au plus haut niveau. Début février, on peut dire que c’est en bonne voie ! Aujourd’hui, je suis en première position de la Coupe du monde avec 6 podiums en 6 courses, dont 1 victoire au Boi Taull Sprint. Aux Championnats d’Europe, j’ai obtenu deux médailles, une de bronze en individuel et une en argent dans le relais mixte avec Celia Perillat Pessey. Quant aux championnats de France, j’ai réalisé le grand chelem avec 4 titres (champion de France en individuel, en sprint, en vertical et en relais mixte) ! »

Thibault Anselmet, 11 février 2024

Thibault Anselmet, la culture ski de rando

Une histoire de famille

Comme beaucoup d’enfants du pays, Thibault Anselmet a chaussé les skis alors qu’il savait à peine marcher. Pas étonnant avec un papa lui-même alpiniste. Inscrit au Ski Club de Bonneval sur Arc (station labelisée « Terre d’Alpinisme » par le Comité Unesco), il enchaîne les piquets avant de bifurquer, à l’adolescence, vers le ski alpinisme. Et très vite, il suit les traces de son père. Entre transmission et admiration : « Il venait me chercher les mercredis à l’internat pour terminer la journée par des montées sèches dans nos stations de Haute Maurienne Vanoise. »

Le ski alpinisme devient alors bien plus qu’une discipline pour le jeune Mauriennais : « Ce sport est physiquement et mentalement difficile et tu apprends beaucoup sur toi. Tu te découvres. Il te permet aussi d’aller où tu veux en montagne, sans être restreint à des pistes ou des remontées. »

Le ski alpinisme : une histoire de famille chez les Anselmet. Lors des Championnats du monde 2023 pendant lesquelles Thibault Anselmet est devenu champion du monde, son frère Jérémy a lui décroché l’argent en relais mixte U20 !

Un profond élan de liberté

Inspiré très jeune par un Kilian Jornet, conseillé avec bienveillance par son père, soutenu par sa commune et par l’Office de Tourisme, Thibault Anselmet a très vite progressé. Et son talent et ses capacités ne trompent pas : celui qui travaillait comme charpentier est devenu en 2021 l’un des seuls Français de la discipline à devenir professionnel grâce à un contrat avec l’Armée des champions. Du haut de son mètre 83, le skieur de Bonneval sur Arc a les épaules larges : « Forcément, mes ambitions sont plus élevées. Je viste une victoire au classement général de Coupe du Monde et pourquoi pas, également, une médaille olympique. »  Le sprint et le relais mixte feront en effet leur entrée aux JO de Milan en 2026 : « Ce serait clairement un objectif à moyen terme. »

Thibault Anselmet, un profond élan de liberté
Pictogramme intagram blanc

Suivez Thibault Anselmet sur  Instagram !

To the moon, Thibault Anselmet

To the moon

En 2023, Thibault Anselmet s’était fixé l’objectif le plus élevé de sa discipline : remporter le classement général de la Coupe du monde du monde de ski alpinisme. Un objectif atteint grâce à un travail de tous les instants et à un mental à toute épreuve. En 2023, il a décroché la lune : les impressions de Thibault avec sa nouvelle vidéo “To the moon“.

Haute Maurienne Vanoise

Culture ski de rando

Figure du ski alpinisme en France, Thibault Anselmet est aussi révélateur d’une culture “ski de rando” bien ancrée sur les stations de Haute Maurienne Vanoise. Des courses et des événements sont régulièrement organisés sur les stations (Trace du Châtelard à Aussois, Traversée des Rois Mages à Valfréjus, montée de l’Eterlou à La Norma…) et des itinéraires sont spécialement tracées à Aussois, Val Cenis et Bessans.

Bessans et Bonneval sur Arc sont même labelisées « Terre d’Alpinisme » par l’Unesco, notamment grâce à cette culture ski de randonnée.

Si Thibault Anselmet est encore jeune (il est né en 1997), la relève est déjà là : Anselme Damevin et Louane Roussillon, de Val Cenis, font partie des meilleurs jeunes français, de même que Jérémy Anselmet, le frère de Thibault. Anselme a remporté le titre mondial en U23 lors des Championnats du monde 2023 et Jérémy a lui aussi été médaillé lors de ces championnats.

Avec une telle densité, la Haute Maurienne Vanoise est désormais la terre des champions du ski alpinisme en France.

Thibault Anselmet, la culture ski de rando
Top 3 des Rando par Thibault Anselmet
Découvrez le top 3 des itinéraires de ski de rando à Bonneval sur Arc par Thibault Anselmet